Canon 1100D versus 60D for beginner DSLR user?

katie11

I am thinking of buying my 1st DSLR camera. I would prefer Canon and because I am just starting out, should I go to the bottom of the range 1100D or learn to use a 60D or 650D. I would appreciate your opinions of what to do.:confused::confused:

I am in the camp that believes that you should start with a cheap body and buy quality (i.e. expensive) glass. I also like to get good bang for the buck in whatever I buy. At the time, my choices were the T2i (550D) T3i (600D) or the T3 (1100D). I looked at the T2i (550D) and the T3i (600D) and decided that the only differences were the articulated LCD screen and the built in remote flash trigger. Neither of those justified paying the premium.

I held the T3 (1100D) and immediately put it back down. I hated how it felt... to some (Nikon owners mostly), the T2i feels cheap, however, the T3 (1100D) feels really cheap...(cheap build, mushy buttons, hard to explain...just pick one up). After doing a quick compare, Im glad I put it down because I also noticed that there were a few other features that would have really bugged me, like the lack of infrared remote shutter release (Im starting to use a tripod more and more and the IR remote is becoming pretty handy, especially for long exposures) and lack of spot metering mode (as a beginner, I didnt know what that was, but its a must for me now). So, I ended up with the T2i (550D).

Looking back, I sometimes wonder if I should have spent a bit more money and got the 60D instead. However, if I were going to do that, I would have just spent a little bit more than that and had gone with the 7D.

Good luck!

Here is a link to a site that has indepth comparisons.

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Canon-Digital-SLR-Camera-Reviews.aspx

Mostly, I would head to a good camera store with a sales staff that knows their stuff and play with the various models. How the camera feels in your hands is very important.

Larry