Current pharmacy experiences @ Belize port?

novalab

Has anyone had a positive experience picking up medications at a pharmacy in the port of Belize? I know there is an older thread on this board but I would love to read about some newer, more current experiences from cruisers.

We won't be filling prescriptions but are interested in any antibiotics that might be available, esp. z-packs. Have a daughter that constantly gets sinus infections in the spring & fall. Her Dr. always prescribes a z-pack. Getting tired of paying the office visit for the same thing.

Would appreciate any information, advice, or referral! Thank you!!!

There was more than one pharmacy in Belize the last time I was there this past November. I gather that one of them (don't know which one though) has a bad reputation for using expired or otherwise inappropriate drugs. I have no personal experience to share beyond knowing there is more than one pharmacy in the Tourism Village. Perhaps someone will elaborate?

I just bought Z packs there this past week, haven't looked closely and have NO clue if I was at the bad one or not but it was $50 for 3 packs I believe but I will double check in the AM!

Buy any chance, do you remember the name of the pharmacy or it's particular location in the cruise port area? The last time I was there (2008), z-packs were selling for $15 each at a little pharmacy located by the main exit gate. Can't remember the name of the pharmacy. I did regret later that I didn't buy the meds while I was there. Wonder if it was the good one or the not so good one....? Hopefully, someone will help us out here.

Thank you both for your information!

Edited by novalab

There's two pharmacies that we have visted.

Using the Chocolate Storefront as a point of reference.

The first shop in the bldg to the left of the Choc store we visited in Oct 2012:

We purchased Vicodin which did not work.

The second pharmacy is at the rear of the bldg to the right of the choc shop.