Opera 3rd Sept 2005

pujro

Newbie here, just booked our first cruise(feeling nervous already!), Sept 3rd on the Opera. Any other Brits aboard?

Also a few questions if anyone can help?

What happens on the last day, we dock at 08:30, but our return flights are 18:00, which is great because (hopefully) we get all day in Venice but what can we do with luggage for the day?(no rude answers please!) Do MSC take us direct to the airport in the morning? If so I guess it's a case of stash the luggage and taxi back to Venice? How far from the port is Venice Marco Polo airport?

Onboard

What are typical drinks charges, beer, spirits, etc?

Are there quieter areas to just have a drink and chill out?

Any other tips for a first timer?

Cheers

pujro

• 3 weeks later...

Hi, I was on Opera on the 4th June - fear not, you will have a fantastic time.

On the last day, everone has to be off Opera by 10.00. Transport by coach is provided by MSC ( check transfers are included in your package deal though, as some were not) to get to Marco Polo. I left shortly after 09.00 and my flight was scheduled for 12.30. Alternatives for passengers with later flights were:

1. Leave luggage in storage bay at the port, approx 3.50 euros per piece, then make own way to explore delights of Venice. There are taxis at the port, approx cost of 8 euros to Pl. Roma where you can then get a water bus ( vaporetto) to explore Venice. The ticket prices for vaporetto are about 3.50 euros each journey and 5 euros for journeys down the Grand Canal. A value ticket, costing 10.50 euros, gives you unlimited vaporetto travel. I did hear that you can get a vaporetto from the port area but I am not too certain about that. I understand that MSC provide a shuttle to Pl. Roma to pick up new passengers but am not sure if this facility is available to passengers leaving, sorry. Remember, if you leave your cases at the port, you will have to return to pick them up then make your way to Marco Polo.