please reducate me on early saver

stressedmomof3

by no means I am an expert cruiser as I have only been on 3 Carnival cruises before,

but l recently put in for a price protection form for onboard credit and I was denied. I received a generic pdf sent to me saying the price is higher than I originally paid. ( Both rooms actually went down in pricing before taxes and gratuities by $20 each)

We originally booked a cruise and paid in full for July for 3 people on one booking, 2 on the other.

I called up to speak with an agent and she said I was denied the credit on the booking for 3 because

The price for passenger #1 and #2 went down, but passengers' price #3 went up

and that

taxes are higher now than when I originally booked.

She also said that the system is generated and can not be overridden. ( Don't know what that really meant as I was just wanting the onboard credit for what I saw on the carnival booking engine)

I have never heard of such a thing and asked to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor denied me stating the same as above and stressing the taxes are higher.

Now granted the price only went down $20 on each room. I was granted the onboard credit for the room with 2 people, but still denied on the room for 3 people because of what was stated above by the supervisor.

Does this sound right to any of you?

When calculating a price drop, you basically need to book a cabin like you have with your booking. And yes, port taxes/fees go up and down and do factor into the price. What you need to compare is the total price. If that is lower, you should get a price correction. I have seen the per person price go down on a couple of my cruises, but there were price additions (different ship decks, port charges) that made the total cost more expensive.

What I do is build a mock booking up to the point of selecting the individual cabin on the deck I currently have and then check the price.

Hope this helps.

Steve