When and how to tip?

Yes, except if you order room service. Then you pay as you go depending on amount of food ordered. I always pay last night. I only give the Room Steward a little if he/she is there to greet me and removed stuff from fridge so I can put meds in.

I've never done it before but this time I intend on tipping both at the beginning and end of the cruise; mainly to 3 people, cabin steward, head waiter and pool bar tender. I've always received good service but I've heard too many good things about doing this that I'm going to give it a try.

The only time that we gave cash up front, we got lousy service. Go figure.

The staff does not EXPECT up-front money, so I just tip at the end. (except at bars - flash cash with your SeaPass, and see the results! ;))

Theron's incomparable tip calculator, aid to millions of clueless travellers:

http://www.members.aol.com/CruiseTip

What about the concierge? What tip level is normal?

The line does not make any recommendation for the concierge, so it's a matter of personal preference.

However, you might find other thoughts on the matter if you search through the forum using "concierge" and "tip" as search terms.

Theron

http://www.members.aol.com/CruiseTip

I know what you mean. To those who claim that they received better service because they tipped up front, I always ask how they know?

We start our cruise with the assumption that the service will be excellent and have rarely, if ever, been disappointed. I feel that gratuities I pay at the end of the cruise reflect my appreciation for the quality of the service I received, and don't feel the need to tip up front to gain some sort of assurance that I will be treated well.

Besides, if I pay up front and receive lousy service, should I demand a rebate? :)