Smartphone Data Verizon

handy4u

Verizon has a $25 per 100Mb roaming package that's claims to be compatible with the system(s) on all Celebrity ships. I am a commission salesman and keep track of my emails whilst on vacation. I want the almost instant notification of an email which is possible via data. This uses very little data if one sets up their phone right and it's connected all the time. We get two 90 minute WiFi packages with our elite status and do use it. However, I was on the Eclipse in 2/2014 and could not get my phone to connect to the on ship cellular system for data. My phone DID work for data on every island. I was able to get texts and make and receive calls whilst on the the ship. Verizon had no idea why i couldn't connect as my phone and plan were correctly set up for it. I tried many times during our 2 week cruise and asked countless employees on the ship about this to no avail.

My question is this: Have you been able to use a Verizon smartphone for data on a Celebrity Cruises ship since 2/2014?

I will be on the Eclipse watching the Super Bowl in 3 weeks! Nice!

Thanks!

Verizon has a $25 per 100Mb roaming package that's claims to be compatible with the system(s) on all Celebrity ships. I am a commission salesman and keep track of my emails whilst on vacation. I want the almost instant notification of an email which is possible via data. This uses very little data if one sets up their phone right and it's connected all the time. We get two 90 minute WiFi packages with our elite status and do use it. However, I was on the Eclipse in 2/2014 and could not get my phone to connect to the on ship cellular system for data. My phone DID work for data on every island. I was able to get texts and make and receive calls whilst on the the ship. Verizon had no idea why i couldn't connect as my phone and plan were correctly set up for it. I tried many times during our 2 week cruise and asked countless employees on the ship about this to no avail.