Last Minute Halloween Costumes!

AZPam

Help! DD who is a freshman at the university has been invited to several halloween parties this weekend. After looking at all the local party stores for a costume, we are ready to pull our hair out. They are all either way too expensive or on the skanky side, if you know what I mean.

Any of you have any brilliant ideas?

I had to come up with a last-minute (VERRRY last minute) costume a few years ago. I wore an old slip that I had written psychological terms all over with a marking pen (ego, id, psychosis, neurosis, obsessive-compulsive, Oedipus Complex, etc., etc.) and went as a "Freudian Slip". My sister wore a tiara, carried a rubber snake and wrapped herself up in a sheet she had written NO! NO! NO! all over.......she was "Cleopatra, Queen of Denial".

LOVE those ideas GrannyJ!!!

I'm a college student...although the "non-traditional" type. Here is what some of younger girls are talking about wearing....

There are the traditional costumes they've talked about:

Zombie: one girl is going to a party wearing a tattered skirt (not revealing, just torn hem), boots that have been rubbed with gray paint, and a sweater that looks like it has moth holes. She's glueing pieces of spanish moss on her clothing (from a craft store)...which I thought was a brilliant idea! She's planning on painting her exposed skin white, with some gray shadowing, gray and black around the eyes, blue lips, and white streak and moss in her hair.

Witch: The usual black dress, green face paint, pointed hat, and broom (I think she got it at a craft store).

Gypsy Queen: broom stick skirt, high heel boots, lots of bangles and jewelry, scarf, and the usual birth mark (sounds a lot like my costumes as a child!)

Non-traditional:

Paris hilton: she plans to dress in a pink dress, pink boots, long blond wig, and to carry a stuffed dog in her purse and say "hot" a lot....and have a blank stare most of the time.