Food on the Spirit

nycruiser1975

I have been reading many reviews on different boards about the food on the spirit. Is the food that bad on the ship? I am a little disappointed to hear that, if it is true. We spend so much $ and no good food, but have to pay more $ to get better quality of food:( . Please help. I am a newbie and still learning.

Recently NCL changed the menus a bit in the main dining rooms, more than likely in an attempt to lower some costs. Frankly I liked and enjoyed the interesting new food in the main dining rooms. I think some people expect too much, expecting to dine at an American bar and grill when the main dining rooms are continental....

Yes, the choicest cuts of meat are at the speciality surcharge restaurants. If you enjoy prime rib, rib-eyes, tenderloin, and sirloin, you'll enjoy the main dining rooms. If however, you prefer a filet or porterhouse T-bone, dine in the speciality surcharge restaurants.

Someone in the past week posted a link to the Dawn's menues from a recent cruise. If you look for it, it will probably show up in the first 5-10 pages of this forum. The best advice I can give you is to look for and see the menues yourself.....

We sailed the Spirit last August and no one in our group had any real "complaints" about the food. Some choices were just better ( or worse) than other choices.

We ate breakfast at the Buffet most mornings and found it fine. Fresh fruits, eggs/omelets to order. It was like eating at a Golden Corral at home with many items to choose from. When we ate at the main dining rooms for breakfast or dinner, we enjoyed it as well. Generally the food in the main dining rooms was served hotter than at the buffet.

If you don't like what you have at first, you can always ask for something else.

The best food ever.... No.... but let me say, I gained about 10 pounds during our cruise, so it must have fairly tasty.

I certainly would not hesitate to sail the Spirit because of the food.

Tim