Private Reyno tour vs group Beno

vic from vic

We have the option to go on a private tour with Reyno or a group with Beno. There's a fair difference in the cost, but I'm leaning towards the private tour. They do go to the same places, but I'm thinking that if we like one particular place (or don't like it), we can move on at our pace instead of waiting for others.

Anyone have any input?

I have no experience with Beno but 4 weeks ago I did a private tour with Reynold. I arranged it about a month ahead via email. I asked him if we could modify his usual tour since I wanted to snorkel at Champagne reef and do a small land tour. He agreed. It was certainly the "island" experience but he met me as agreed near the ship. Since there were 4 of us we expected to to the tour alone but the driver and our guide also picked up 4 more people for the land tour. It was a great tour, better than I expected. Dominica is a beautiful tropical place. Mr Nice fruit stand was unforgettable. After the (long) land tour he took us a few miles to Champagne beach as agreed where we snorkeled (was great, water was very clear). You can't imagine how bad the roads are in some places in Dominica. Then back to the ship as agreed. I certainly got my money's worth and would have to recommend Reynold. But if you want to deviate from the "normal" tour, make sure it is very clear to him from the start what you want. You may have to make concessions if other people come along. But we had no problems.

It's not so much that I want to deviate, I'm just thinking that on the private tour we can do things at our pace instead of a group pace. But it sounds like you're not guaranteed the private tour anyway - if he picked up some others when you thought it was just the 4 of you.