Ship Shore Excursions - Are they ever good?

I am taking my first cruise to Europe on the Princess Grand 9/1/06. I have been on a number of cruises to the Caribean, Canada and Bermuda and have rarely done any of the ship shore excursions.

This is my first time going to Europe. We are going to Monte Carlo, Naples, Florence (Livorno), Santorini, Athens (Pireus), Mykonos, Ephesus (Kusadasi), Katakolon, Corfu, ending in Venice.

I think it will be easy enough in the smaller ports to find our way around, but we are considering shore excursions in Florence (2 hours in Florence then the rest of the day in Chianti), Naples (Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast), and Athens (the highlights tour).

There are not very many people on the roll call board for this cruise - which is suprising because other than the inside cabins, the ship is sold out.

Everyone on this board seems to do private tours, but for 2 people it seems to be very expensive.

Are the shore excursions that bad?????

Thanks in adavnce for your opinions.

DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT, buy the idea that unless you do a private tour, you won't be getting your money's worth.

The ship's shore excursions are good enough for me, and I'm going on a Mediterranean cruise too (July 1, Millennium). They give you a good taste of a city the first time out, and most importantly, they feature licensed guides who have a responsibility to get you back to the ship on time.

I won't knock the private tours (unlike some people, who seem to sneer at anyone who wants to do a bus tour) but I wouldn't use them, especially on my first trip to Europe (which this isn't)