Gifts as/in addition to Tips

frugal one

Interesting... I've read numerous times on numerous threads that folks give gifts in addition to tipping the staff.

Just a heads up to y'all... We received a gift from our room attendant (lovely journal) as well as our waiter (lovely necklace) on our Century cruise.

Wonder where they came from?

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I'm all for re-gifting:D

:D funy!!!:D

and BTW...I'd love to be the recipient of the chocolates...Belgian or otherwise. :)

seriously though, I just give cash as tips....personally, I worked as a hairdresser & I don't think I'd have appreciated anything but cash myself.

I saw someone on CC say they took a bottle of wine for their CS as a gift. I found that pretty weird. The crew is usually doing a very hard job with long hours for one reason - money. To give them a gift, when they live in extremely tight quarters and send every penny home, seems strange to me. The only thing I can see are the phone cards, but I've heard a waiter say that when people buy them in the states and bring them they mostly aren't any good in the ports. Besides, the ship obtains and sells phone cards to the staff and crew at a very good rate and they are usuable in the ports. Once again cash would be better. JMO.

I saw someone on CC say they took a bottle of wine for their CS as a gift. I found that pretty weird. The crew is usually doing a very hard job with long hours for one reason - money. To give them a gift, when they live in extremely tight quarters and send every penny home, seems strange to me. The only thing I can see are the phone cards, but I've heard a waiter say that when people buy them in the states and bring them they mostly aren't any good in the ports. Besides, the ship obtains and sells phone cards to the staff and crew at a very good rate and they are usuable in the ports. Once again cash would be better. JMO.