Non Scuba Mom w/ Jr Diver requests info please

DogLover

Hi there,

I will be cruising with my son (15) and daughter (13) on the Explorer July 4th. Both kids are Jr. Divers, they got certified with their dad and we are since divorced. My son has expressed extreme interest in diving whilst in Grand Cayman. I have emailed several dive operators to check options (ones recommended here as well as the place they were taught), but my question is really one of safety. Since I do not dive, is it a prudent thing to even allow him to do so? I don't want to come across as a "nervous Nellie" but at the same time, I want to be sure he is properly supervised. What about the option of a shore dive? I have very little diving knowledge and want to make the right decision.

Thanks so very much in advance for all replies!

DogLover-

(love the name - my spoiled-rotten DD is in his bed at my feet)

The best solution is to get certified and make it a family trip, but I'm assuming that is a difficult option with the short timeframe. You could be ready for next time, though. [img]http://messages.cruisecritic.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif[/img] Diving is a wonderful sport, and could be a key to keeping the 'terrible teens' livable for you. (My mom and I fished and skied together)

I think you would probably have to accompany the kids on the dive boat from an insurance standpoint. The only jr. divers I have been diving with have been buddied with parents/stepparents, and were under my watchful eye as well.

Sorry I don't have more info for you.

Hope you have a great trip - diving or not!

Wendy

I would like to suggest the option of a guided shore dive. You can stay on shore while your son does a dive with the guide, one on one. [url="http://www.edenrockdive.com/4.htm"]Edenrockdiving.com[/url] is one place that offers a guided shore dive at Eden rock (duh) for $55 including equipment.