Stern balcony room a mistake?

nm_longshot

Okay.. I tend to over analyze, but I have a bit of a concern and I'm hoping that someone here can tell me to relax and forget about it :D

I booked a stern balcony room on the RCCL Rhapsody, and it just occured to me that on the back of the boat we may tend to accumulate exhuast a bit more than other places on the ship.

Is this true.. or am I worried about nothing? Anyone have a stern balcony room with experience to share?

Thanks...

Hah! Yes, I am new to CC as well as to cruising. We booked this trip as a spring break trip after swearing I would never go on a cruise. I used to work in the oil industry and once spent 5 weeks on a rig being towed from Singapore to Palawan. No rock climbing wall on that vessel :-)

Stay tuned.... I'm sure I'll have lots of noob questions coming up.

Thanks for the help!

I have had an aft balcony on the Rhapsody........I can honestly say at no time during the cruise did we ever smell any type of exhaust from the ship.

I think you will enjoy it very much

nm_longshot,

Four points - first I'm not sure on the Rhapsody, but on the Constellation the Suites and CC cabins are at the stern of the ship. I would think if it's where they put the most expensive cabins, it ain't BAD!

Second, you may feel more motion aft. Again on the Constellation, the Dining Room is aft, and for meals, I found it a little unsettling to sit and watch the wake of the ship in the moonlight. The extra movement caused a little nausea and light-headedness. However, in our cabin towards the stern, we didn't have any problem with extra motion.

Third, I never saw or smelled any exhaust on any of my cruises, regardless of where my cabin was located. Some have reported soot, but I've never encountered any.

Fourth, relax and enjoy your cruise!:p