Galveston Cruise with Kids -- Carnival or RCCL???

Cinderellie

Hello, all. I'm new to the message board. I was hoping you could help steer me toward the best decision on a cruise for my family -- me & hubby, 14 year old boy and 10 year old girl, both sports-lovers.

We are expeienced cruisers, have travelled on RCCL years ago (pre-kids), and loved their service & food -- but we've never travelled on Carnival. (Last trip was 7 days last year on the Disney Magic -- awesome!)

Have you cruised either lines/ports with kids? I have a business trip to Texas that last week in August before my kids go back to school, and thought we'd take a cruise out of Galveston.

Did anyone take either of those cruises? Your ratings, please, with kids in mind.

Thanks, all! icon_cool.gif

Cinderellie

Hi,

My daughter is much younger than your kids - she's 15 months - but you haven't received any responses yet, so I'll try to help. icon_smile.gif

We just got back from a cruise on RC's Splendour of the Seas. They have what seemed to me to be a nice youth program. Lots of teenagers having fun on the ship. (it was Easter weekend, so there were quite a few families.) The teens really enjoyed the line dancing lessons, virgin drinks by the pool and hanging out at the teen club, from what we saw.

I don't know anything about Carnival - this was our first cruise ever.

Hope this helps some. We really enjoyed Splendour of the Seas. It's now on a transatlantic trip I think, but Rhapsody of the Seas also sails out of Galveston.

Enjoy your trip!

Have never sailed on RCI so I won't offer opinions on a product I know nothing about. I think it is most helpful (at least to me) when you hear from people who have been on these lines in the not-too-distant past, as the ships and cruise lines change over time and a sailing 5 years ago probably won't compare to one now.