Do You Use Fins for Snokeling?

Leo Jay

Do You Use Fins When You Snorkel?  

67 members have voted

1. 1. Do You Use Fins When You Snorkel?

• Yes
    • Sometimes
    • No

I bought fins for my first attempt at snorkeling last year, but I ended up not using them much. I found it tricky walking on sand with them, and found I didn't really need them in the water, since I stayed in shallow water most of the time.

How much do they help if you want to venture farther out? And is it really, really stupid to venture a bit farther out if you're a non-swimmer? (I wear a vest, of course). :D

Hi Leo...

As a former scuba instructor I would always advise you to wear fins while snorkeling. You should remove them when exiting the water to make getting around on the sand easy. Also, not being a good swimmer you always want to snorkel with someone else (preferably someone who swims well) and never go without your vest.

Hope this helps

Ted

The jury is in - 100% of two voters say ... wear fins! They do help you to move through the water more strongly without as much effort.

The AMEN part is for ALWAYS wearing your vest and ALWAYS snorkeling with a buddy who is a comfortable, confident swimmer.

Also, please be sure to check with someone who is knowledgeable about conditions and currents before you snorkel someplace new -- this goes for everyone, not just those who aren't strong swimmers -- the only surprise you want is a fun new fishy sighting, not to be swept out by a strong current or caught in sudden heavy chop that you aren't prepared to deal with.

Wade in and then put your fins on -- you can wear thin aquasocks if the beach is rocky. Be safe and have fun!

I always wear fins, especially if the water is a bit rough or has a current. With bare feet, you'd be going nowhere fast. :D And I personally prefer the open heel fins, so can wear dive booties if having to walk on a rocky shore, then can just slip the fins on once I hit the water.