in the beginning stages of planning... lots of ?s!

hello everyone, i just joined this message board and this is my first time posting. we got engaged last weekend and are hoping to get married during a cruise in December 2008. we want to keep our same (dating) anniversary of Dec 9 for our wedding anniversary, so it's a little complicated trying to find a cruise that docks somewhere on the 9th where we can easily get married! i'm hoping it doesn't prove to be too hard and we have to change the date.

i have found two cruises so far that dock in Grand Cayman that day and i did find out that you can get off the ship and get married that same day, no residency requirements or anything like that. are there any other Caribbean islands with similar rules? it seems that most i've looked up require you to be on the island for 24-48 hours before you can get a marriage license. however, both those cruises i'm looking at are 7 nighters so we have to make sure that the few people who would be willing to go on the cruise with us can go for that long, i'm sure many of them would prefer 4 or 5 nights but i can't find one yet that works out that way.

anyway, i was just wondering if anyone had any advice for me. my mom works for a cruise booking agency so she can help us get the cruise set up and get us a little discount. what i'm trying to figure out now is the way to go about planning the actual wedding. i saw a website for local companies that can arrange everything for you, like for instance if we want to have a simple ceremony on the beach that day, we can set things up with them through the mail and then meet them on the day of to finalize things. if i'm doing it that way, do i even need to deal with anyone from the cruise company? i would think that it wouldn't be any real concern of theirs if we're getting off the ship to do it, but i have no idea how that stuff works.