RCI Stingray snorkelling excursions

38anchor

I am a newbie cruiser sailing for the first time on Freedom of the Seas - December 23 2007. I've been trying to sort out excursions and I have finally decided that one I really want to do is a Stingray option on Grand Cayman, but now the problem is, which one?

RCI seem to offer a few and I have no idea which to choose. Are the ones with lunch a good idea or should we do our own thing? What is the difference between Stingray City Sandbar Swim and Stingray City Swim? Noit really bothered about a combined beach break so have omitted that option.

These are the options coming up:

1. Stingray City Swim & Snorkel

Approximate Duration: 3 hour(s)

22.95 GBP (Adult)

2. Stingray City Sandbar Swim & Snorkel

Approximate Duration: 2 hour(s) 30 minute(s)

*22.95 GBP (Adult)

3. Stingray City Sandbar & Grand Harbor Lunch

Approximate Duration: 4 hour(s)

*32.64 GBP (Adult)

4. Stingray City Barrier Reef 2 Stop Snorkel

Approximate Duration: 3 hour(s) 30 minute(s)

*34.68 GBP (Adult)

Any help/advice/tips gratefully received. Thanks. :confused:

Just got back and we chose Moby Dick's tour to Stingray City and snorkeling...so GLAD we made this choice!

Got off the ship with no waiting at about 8:20 (and actually could have stayed on the ship another 30 minutes). Checked in with Moby Dick tours at the dock shortly after 8:30, then walked around the town about 1 hour. About the only thing open that early is the grocery store, a short walk away. You DO NOT need to rush to get off the ship for this tour since they load the van at 9:30 with ALL who signed up...not just your group. If you are there too early, you will have to fill time until 9:30.

After loading on the van, we drove about 30 minutes to the boat. There were maybe 25-30 people on our boat...VERY comfortable and not crowded. Saw some huge double-decker boats from the ship's tour and they were very crowded...looked to be over 100 people on some of them.