Melbourne - Jan 08

trvlgrlmn

I am thinking about taking Celebrity's "Great Ocean Road" excursion on Wed. Feb 20 and wanted to hear from anyone who has an opinion about this tour. It lasts 8 1/2 hours, 7 of which are on the bus. I understand that the scenery is spectacular (I'm an amateur photographer) and this is probably the only way to see the views in such a short time span. This will be our first time in Melbourne and I don't know if something else is a "must see."

Thanks in advance for all replies.

John

Hi, Yes the Great Ocean Road is worth exploring, but half the joy is taking the various roads to the special features and walking along the beaches, cliff tops areas where small rivers enters the sea and walking down piers etc and through the National Parks on the forest side. Being on a coach tour you will stop at a few of the larger sites and be able to get some feel of it and there is a good visitor centre to explore. Its an area that people will go back to and have favourite spots. The first 2 hours will be getting to the road that goes to area and likewise the last 2 hours are coming back. (Its a bit like us when we had to make a decison to go to Yosemite lots of travelling to and from but we had the time to stay one night there ) Whatever you choose a day in a port is never enough Also check trip advisor and do a search under Melbourne Great Ocean Road it will give you some interesting info annski:)

Jan is often very hot, if you decided to stay in the city may i sujest eureka towers for a fantasic view of melbourne and a tram down to St Kilda and to Chapel st South Yarra all can be done with the one day pass on the tram which can be caught just across the road from the pier. When In Jan are you in Melbourne?

The Great Ocean Road is Beautiful especialy in the summer months.

All think about The Yarra Valley and Healsville Sancturay for some great wine beautiful scenery and to see the wildlife.