What is it like departing without using US Direct?

UF G8R

I reported on my US direct experience out of Vancouver earlier this week and there is debate as to if it is worth the price, or worth anything at all. Could someone who disembarked in Vancouver and went directly to the airport on without using either the cruise line transfer or the baggage transfer program please report on how long it took and what their experience was like? Please include the day of the week and time of day as well as the actual date. Thanks

I have no experience with the US Direct service because the Patter report an incorrect due date & time. Departing to the US from Vancouver is a time consuming activity.

We did purchase transfers from Princess but were too late for the other options.

We boarded the bus to the airport and the trip took about 40 minutes to the point where we got off the bus. We then lined up to get our bags which were handled from the ship to the airport. This took about 20 minutes but was fairly well organized. Once we had our bags we proceeded to the airline counter for check-in. We were on Alaska Air and the desk is right where we gathered our luggage and there was no line. The agent issued our boarding passes and tagged our bags. We then line up to go through Canadian customs & immigration. No big deal but there were a ton of people doing the exact same thing. Next up, US customs & immigration, same ton of people since the terminal is only for US departures. Now you put your bags on the conveyor belts and line up for security.

I would say it was at least a couple of hours but our flight was not until later in the afternoon. It is just a pain to travel through Canadian airports which include the US processing as well. Don't even get me started on Toronto.

TJ

Ouch!!!

Maybe we should re-think our plans. We have a 12:30 flight, which normally wouldn't be a problem - and might not be this time. Regardless, we will check into US Direct as an alternative.

Ouch!!!