Musings after my first cruise:Century ,Western Med.

Azulann

I am a veteran winter vacationer to Mexico. I had only seen cruise ships from afar. They would appear in the morning in the bays of Acapulco, Puerta Vallarta, Zihuatenajo. They would disgorge their passengers for a day. We, land vacationers, would stay away from the markets/center of the town during "cruise day". At night I would watch the twinkling lights of the ship as it slipped gracefully out of the bay, moving along the horizen of the ocean. Someday I said to myself I would like to be standing on the deck of one of those ships.

I did. I joined my sister in law and her husband(veterans if 16 cruises) and sailed on the Century for 11 nights in the Western Med (Sept 8-19).

After three wonderful days in Barcelona it was Cruise Day. I had reseached all the ports of call, read all the advise and ongoing discussions on the Cruise Critic boards. I was ready and full of excitment. Through the taxi window I could see the Century moored next to the larger Summit. My new home for eleven day was huge in my eyes. I felt like my granddaughter the day we entered the Magic Kingdom of Disney. "This is awesome".My mantra, given to me by Ann a fellow crusier, became"I feel like I am in a movie"!!

Only on a Cruise Ship

"Welcome aboard, Madam" while being offered a glass of champagne. I got use to being called madam or even "My Lady" by the third day!

Never got tired of watching the sail away from ports. The first time was a party. The band playing, lots of people standing near the railing of the open decks, drink in hand, waving to the passengers of the Summit, horns of both ships blaring ,as we effortlessly moved away from the dock.