Not so "Wow" For Me :(

I found the cruise we wanted for spring break......

Stayed up late so I could call at the very beginning of the sale......

And unfortunately, the advertised price for an inside cabin was only for a guarantee and the firm price to book specific rooms was $300 more per person. That put it out of our price range for four people.

I couldn't do the guarantee because I need two cabins next to or across from each other since ds is in hs and he has to be near us.

Can someone explain to me the big push to sell guarantee rooms? Heck, I could have gotten a g-balcony cheaper than a firm inside. What gives? Is it that hard to assign a room?

I was so upset I couldn't hardly sleep. I'll keep checking prices for the cruise I want, maybe it will come down in price during the next few months. I'm sure I can get some onboard credit through a TA.

Sher

I have only been on 3 cruises so I am still a newbie but keep checking those prices, everyday if you have to. I always book a year in advance and this year, for some reason I decided to wait. I booked my Madri Gras / 60th birthday cruise for February 2009 this past week. By waiting this long, I just happen to luck out and get the cabin I wanted. And I noticed several nice cabins near me for the same price or lower.

Don't give up. People book early and then cancel throughout the year because things do happen which causes cabins to pop up at good prices.

I have to agree with you....the WOW is not so much a WOW.....especially in this economy....I expected to get little more of a break!!:(

It seems if you wait the price goes down drastically, but then you don't get the exact room you want.... I'm in the same boat as you, with 3 boys we get 2 rooms and want them very close by, like next door or across the hall!!;)

I'm just going to wait it out!!:rolleyes: