St Thomas or St John or Both

KBSunshine

Hello!! I am going to be going on a cruise in January and one of the Ports of Call is St Thomas. I am not one for shopping or bar hopping (not that I mind the drinks :) ), but while I am in the islands I'd rather find good places to snorkel and beach hop! Should I stick to St Thomas or take a ferry over to St John? Can I fit both in 8 or so hours? Is it easy to set up snorkeling and transportation to various beaches and possibly islands (St. John). I am new to cruising and am just trying to get a feel for what I can do while there. Any advice, information, or suggestions on what to do or what beaches to go to would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much!!!

Thanks for posting this question. I was about to do the same thing. I even composed the message I was going to post already. :D

I'm wondering a bit about St. John after some travelguide reading last night. We have left St. Thomas open, figuring we'd either do a self-guided walking tour of the city, or take the ferry over to St. John to hike. Well, the excursions listed in the travelguide seem pretty expensive, which disturbs me because I wonder what is it about hiking on St. John that would warrant them charging so much. Is it something that we're going to have trouble arranging and doing ourselves?

The cruise ship excursion is $48 pp, which is actually a lot less than some of the excursions listed in the travelguide. Even so, what are they offering for that $48? I suppose they're offering priority debarkation. In St. Thomas, I cannot imagine that mattering much. The ferry costs either $3 or $7 (I cannot tell which, but whichever...) There is a taxi ride at the end of the hike, but heck I'd have to think it would be just as well to hike back, at least for avid hikers like my wife and I.