Newbie Here..Please critique my itinerary

stephv710

I am so grateful for all of the information that you have taken the time to post. It has helped a great deal so far!

Background: DH and I are late 40's, never been on a cruise and are planning Alaska in June 2006. Hubby is semi-reluctant, doesn't want to "play cheesy games" and thinks he may be bored. He is an outdoorsman and loves to fish so promised him a fishing excursion to talk him into it. Here is what we are tentatively talking about and would appreciate any and all input:

I think Princess may be our choice; they seem to have most of the experience. We are going for the balcony, but for southbound, should we choose one side of the ship vs. the other? Better scenery?

How far in advance should we book?

How do we know if we are getting a good deal?

1) Fly to Anchorage 4 days pre-cruise, rent a car and explore Kenai, Seward and that area. Possible stay at the Princess lodge in Kenai ? Any other suggestions?

2) Return car to Anchorage Airport - How do we get from the airport to the Docks? This is confusing to me.

3) Skagway - Thinking of renting the car and driving to Emerald lake. This sounds beautiful.

4) Juneau - Either whale watching with Capt. Larry or fly out fishing. Will either to that in Juneau or Ketchikan. Which would be better for this...Juneau or Ketchikan. Want to take a float plane to a lake or river.

5) Ketchikan - If we don't go on the float plane, then kayak to Orcas Cove and then rent fishing equipment and fish close to town. Are people still doing that? I have heard that you can rent a rod and fish right in town.

6) Depart Vancouver. How far is the dock to the airport? Should we just plan on staying over in Vancouver? I thing we may be too tired to fly out that day.

These are just my preliminary questions; I'm sure I'll be bugging all of you for the next year!