Solstice - May 30 Sailing - Comments

nadalina

I debated about writing about my recent cruise on the lovely Solstice because others have already written about this same sailing and I agree with many of their comments. However, I am an "old school" cruiser, meaning that I have been cruising for 20 years and I love the older, smaller and more intimate ships, formal nights, and the international elegance of the crew in the dining room. I had not been on a Celebrity ship in six years, so my comments are really more of a comparison of how it was when I first sailed on the Horizon in 1990 to my last Celebrity cruise on the Constellation in 2004 and now to last week on the Solstice. I have over 30 cruises with Celebrity but after the merger with RCCL I decided to venture out and try other cruise lines, so it was interesting to return to a new Celebrity ship and see how things had changed. So, for whatever they're worth, here are a few of my opinions and comments, the positive, the negative, and the neutral.

Positive:

*Embarkation - Easier than ever.

*Ship - Solstice is truly a beautiful vessel; elegant, sophisticated but not stuffy, artsy but not intimidatingly so. We participated in a cabin crawl and got to see several different categories of cabins, including three different types of suites, and they were really, really beautiful.

*Hot Glass Show - Amazing and one of the highlights of our cruise - we went 4 times.

*Food - Very good to excellent - no disappointment there.

*Room Service - Only had it once but it was excellent.

*Service - Except in Cafe al Bacio, service was also very good to excellent. *Beverage Packages - Premium Alcohol Package and Premium Non-Alcohol Package turned out to be excellent choices for us and a great value.

*Shops - Really nice and varied onboard shopping opportunities.

*Officers - Very visible and approachable.