Hotel Advice for Tampa

Gma_of_3

I need to book a room (rooms) for 4 of us in Tampa for the night before our cruise. I'm considering trying Priceline - but I've never used it before. Can anybody give me advice on how I enter the Location for a nice 3 or 4 star hotel. Would we enter it as "airport" area - and then just plan to grab a cab the next day to the port? Or do we go by "downtown"? Any advice you can give me would be greatly appreciated - as we are not at all familiar with Tampa. Of course, we do want to try for something in a decent area - I was advised to stay away some areas (such as North Mabry) - any other advice?

Thanks in advance

[img]http://escati.linkopp.net/cgi-bin/countdown.cgi?trgb=000000&srgb=00ff00&prgb=ff00ff&cdt=2004;8;22;15;00;00&timezone=GMT-0500[/img]
Our FIRST Cruise!!
Carnival Inspiration

I think most cruisers choose the downtown area, but if your plane gets in late at nite the airport isn't too far either.

I prefer to always stay as close to the pier as possible... this way if anything goes wrong (car trouble, difficulting in getting a taxi, forgetting something at the hotel, etc) it's easier to plan for or correct.

You could also look at a map of where the pier is located... then go to Priceline and put 'tampa' in the location box. The next screen will show you a map of the area and the zones Priceline uses and then you can make a determination of what zone(s) you want to choose.

-thereuare
[B]<font size="3">BetterBidding</font>[/B]
and
[B]<font size="3">PortSchedules</font>[/B]