First time cruisers and hepatitis

Anne76

My husband and I are going on a cruise in may and it's our first cruise :). We are going in the Caribbeans and we are not really confortable with the hepatitis stuff that I keep hearing about :confused: . It's now too late to receive some vaccination...So I would like to know if the touristic places are really "safe" for tourists (in terms of food and beverages) and if they say they have purified water and ice, do you consider it "OK"?

Thanks!

I have been sailing to the caribbean for well over 20 years and have never had a problem. But if you feel better, contact your local Travel Clinic and get your shots. If you don't have a Travel Clinic, check with your doctor.

We've been cruising since 87 all over the Caribbean, Hawaii, Alaska and a 2 week tour to China with time on the Yangtze River and the only shots we make sure we have are Tetanus/ Diptheria boosters when needed. So far no problem. We are thinking we should get Hep A and B shots as there was an outbreak of Hepatitis in a neighboring county from employees in a restaurant. There seems to be a large number of meth labs there. Looks like we need them more here at home than on a trip.

My husband and I are going on a ...cruise in may and it's our first ...cruise :). We are going in the Caribbeans and we are not really confortable with the hepatitis stuff that I keep hearing about :confused: . It's now too late to receive some vaccination...So I would like to know if the touristic places are really "safe" for tourists (in terms of food and beverages) and if they say they have purified water and ice, do you consider it "OK"?

I understand and appreciate your concern about hepatitis....it's a pretty serious concern.

The hepatitis vaccines are done in sets of 3. In Canada the vaccine is called "Twinrix" and you need to have it 3 times before you are "fully" immune.

After the first shot, the second one is administered 30 days later, and the final one 6 months later.