Insurance Qs for Scandinavia-Russia cruise and land

Alaskanb

Hello: In June 2013 we will be taking our 2nd cruise--the Emerald Princess Scandinavia/Russia (S-R) itinerary with at least one day precruise in Copenhagen and 4 days post cruise in the UK. We will be aged 72 and 63. DH is on medicare, I have a BCBS ppo plan.

On our first cruise (Island Princess -Alaska) we were not happy with the plan that the TA (AARP-Expedia) required that we purchase and added in the Travel Guard medevac plan and an Access America plan to cover our time on land and flights home. It gave us some overlapping coverage.

We booked the S-R cruise while onboard through Princess on May 27, 2012. Final payment due next March, 2013. I will probably transfer this to a local travel agent in the next few days--something I have never done before, even though we have travelled extensively, but the trip is a little complex and I need a little hand holding:(

The big question is how do I calculate the amount of insurance we will need? Is there one company that will cover all areas of insurance and still provide an adequate evac plan in Scandinavia and Russia? As I do not yet know the costs of flights, hotel, etc when do I do this so that pre-existing conditions are covered? Thanks--I am having difficulty thinking this through.

Hello: when do I do this so that pre-existing conditions are covered? Thanks--I am having difficulty thinking this through.

Cruiseco and Sirwired are a couple of folks who can help you with the few remaining options you have.

MOST companies will cover pre-existing conditions if you buy the insurance within 14 days of booking. You only have a couple of days to do this.

There are a couple of companies that provide coverage if you buy before final payment.

You don't need to calculate. You can buy insurance now for the cost of the cruise, then call the insurance company later and add on the hotels and air as you finalize. Then pay for the additional coverage.