Rookie question - boarding at ports

AlaskanNewby

Well, I think I have figured out our excursions for our June Princess cruise. Thanks to all the help from this board!

We will be doing:

Ketchikan - Orca Cove kayaking with Southeast Sea Kayaks

Juneau - Whale watching with Capt Larry & glacial helicopter tour with Coastal, then gold panning thru Princess

Skagway - Glacial Point wilderness safari

Now for what is probably a silly question, but I have never done a cruise before, so here goes...The cruise site lists a boarding time and departure time. I am assuming that we must be back on the boat before the boarding time - right? Is there usually any kind of lines that we have to deal with at that point? Do we need to allow extra time to get back on board? The last thing I want to do is miss the boat. Sorry if this seems silly, but the 'cruises' I have been on in the past have been dive boats with a maximum of 12 people, so there were never lines for anything.

Thanks

I have never experienced lines when reboarding any ship..and if there is...I can;t imagine the ship just leaving....."Sorry you can't board!" "Move away from the gangplank"..Ha.. So, I think if you are back before the scheduled sailing time, you will be fine...Also, if you have booked your excursions with the ship, they will even wait on you if there is a problem with arrival..Enjoy your cruise...

I say be back at boarding time. They would ideally have everyone on by boarding time because it will take 30 minutes to put things back together for an on-time departure. That said, there will be lines, especially in certain places. If the ship is docked near town, you'll be able to see that the line is huge (or not) and will be able to decide how much longer you think you can wait. No, they aren't going to leave people in line. But if you gambled by waiting until sailing time, and there wasn't a line, YOU LOSE.