Book your own air travel?

eaj15

Hi all!! I'm a rookie and my husband and I are looking into taking our first cruise ever with our 2 1/2 year old in October. Have you traditionally booked your own airfare or done it through your booking source? What should I consider? What about airport transfers?

So many questions!!

Thanks for any help!

I suggest you book your own airfare. Do not go through the cruiseline. The cost is historically much cheaper. But check around. You book through the source if you are using TA or you can just do it on your own. A majority of people on the boards, me included, will say you should go the day before. Nothing like having a bad air conditioner or something prevent your plane from leaving and you being delayed and stressing about not making the ship. For the cost of a hotel room the night before it is certainly worth it for the piece of mind of not missing the ship.

Having said that Disney does a great job with transfers. If you arrive the day of your cruise you will receive luggage tags you put on your suitcases. This will notify airport personnell to give it to DCL and it will arrive at your stateroom later that day. You don't have to claim it at the airport, you just need to check your bags at your departure airport and not worry again until you are settling in.

You can use the DCL transfers even if you arrive the day early. You will get the bus at MCO and they will bring you right to the ship (if you stay at Disney they will pick you up there as well - I just don't know which hotels). They wait for a bus to fill up and then leave. You can also do it on the reverse (and purchase onboard if you wish) and some airlines accept your luggage at the pier if you use DCL transfers. If you are staying in the Port Canaveral area the night before you won't need to worry about it and you will have found your own way out there (about 45 mins or so). Florida has inexpensive one way car rentals - just a thought or limo service.