Imagination, or Conquest Western Caribbean?

crabcracker

Hi all, I'm new to CC boards, however I did lurk a while before finally posting.My DH and I are planning our first cruise, which will be the Honeymoon that has been delayed for 17 years:eek:

We really want to see Jamaica,and it looks like Carnival,or RCL would be the best value for us.Carnival is winning however, as they are having a nice upgrade sale this month,and have good prices in general.

I would like advice from anyone who has been on the Imagination 5 day Western Caribbean recently ( maybe the past year,or less) and your opinion.On the first time cruiser board I was advised to do a 7 day for the first time, but I think 5 days would be O.K. too as long as we get to the ports we most want to see.

I am most interested in your review of the service aboard the Imagination.I know it is a "smaller,older" ship, however if it has been well maintained,and service is good,that won't make any difference to us.We're not real picky people when it comes to cabins, as long as they are clean, we can sleep in the same bed, and the a/c works.Neither DH, or I have ever been on what you would call a "real vacation" since we were kids ( we are in our mid 40's now) so almost anything on a cruise ship will be luxorius to us.:D

Also, do you think the 7 day cruise for other than the obvious ( you get two more days) reasons is better than the 5 day?

The main problem for us with the Conquest is that it leaves from NOLA, and we are near Harrisburg PA, which even though its the state capitol, doesn't rate a really first class airport,:( and all flights to NOLA are connecting.We do however have direct cheapy flights to almost any of the major cities in FLA.I plan to book the flights myself and stay over the night before the cruise and the night after.

Also would like advice as to wether, or not you would use a TA when booking with Carnival, or if its better to go with one of their"vacation planners" directly.