New England - Nova Scotia cruise

I am somewhat new to cruising having only been on 2 cruises - both Carnival Pride. I am planning a cruise on Royal Caribbean - Grandeur of the Seas to New England/Nova Scotia. Has anyone done this cruise? Do you have any recommendations on excursions? Our ports of call are Portland, Bar Harbor, New Brunswick and Halifax. I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks so much.

Debbie, we did a similar cruise on Royal Caribbean several years ago and had a fantastic time - the scenery is beautiful, the towns easy to get around and the people, friendly. We did not do any ship's tours.

In Portland, Maine, we rented a car and drove to the Portland Head Light (lighthouse) for a tour, then down to Kennebunkport for the best lobster rolls ever. On the way back to port we even had time to do a bit of outlet shopping and then had a locally brewed beer at a restaurant/bar with outdoor seating right by the port. It was a great, laid back day.

In Bar Harbor, we made arrangements to take a kayaking tour in the morning, had a traditional lobster and blueberry pie lunch and then poked around town for a while. When we make it back (which we hope to some day) we plan to go to Acadia National Park for the day.

Hope you have a great time on your cruise.

This was an awesome cruise, we went on The Caribbean Princess. In Halifax we took the tour to the cemetery where the victims from The Titanic were buried, it was very fascinating. In Bar Harbor we did The Acadia National Park excursion, this was incredible! I really wasn't thrilled to do this cruise, I mean, where are the palm trees!!! LOL. But, it was great, you will enjoy this. We are from New England, so this wasn't new to us, but still a greet cruise.

Marguerite