? re: Registering Disability w/Carnival

Li'lImp

Hi, all! I am a novice cruiser who happens to have a neuromuscular disease that affects my extremities. I currently use lower leg braces, but otherwise usually get around okay, except for stairs.

I sailed for the first time last year with RCI. I reserved a handicapped cabin, so of course I had to complete paperwork. During muster, I checked in at the life boat station and was immediately ordered to check in at the lounge with the other handicapped passengers, despite my assertion that I was fine to stand outside. Based on this experience, I figured this is how it's done in the cruise industry -- handicapped passengers are identified in case of extra assistance being needed during an emergency.

I'm now preparing to cruise on CCL. In an effort to simplify booking and get a cabin in my preferred area of the ship, I reserved a non-modified stateroom. My husband and I believe I can probably do okay there as long as I can get a shower chair.

So I called the Special Needs department to request a shower chair and to request the forms for notifying the appropriate personnel about my disability. The agent said yes to the chair and that it will not require paperwork. I again asked about notifying personnel, and she stated the only possible person to notify would be the ship's doctor in case I would require treatment.

Does this sound right? Do they really not track disabled passengers if they are not in a modified cabin?

Edited by Li'lImp

I have sailed with Carnival three times in the past without having a modified cabin. I did notify the Special Needs department prior to cruising. They noted my disability (mobility issues). I reported to my regular muster drill location but was on a list of disabled people. I was told to remain in the location while everyone went outside since I would not be able to take the stairs during a lifeboat evacuation.