Confused: Nikon or Panasonic or ??

bonnid

I am so confused and am hoping that someone here can help me. I was planning to take my daughter's DSLR on our upcoming cruise (in 3 weeks). I have been taking pictures so that I can get used to it. Well, it just seems too bulky for me to enjoy. It's a Canon Rebel XT with a long zoom lens. I normally use a P&S, a Canon powershot SD1400 IS.

So I've been looking online to find out about alternatives. I've also been reading a lot of the posts here - my head is swimming. I've been using Canons for many years but now it appears that I'm looking at the Nikon Coolpix P520 and the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ150 but then there are others including the FZ70 that is being released tomorrow.

I want to be able to use it as my one camera for the cruise as well as taking general family / pet photographs. I like the idea that the Nikon has GPS and can tag all the photos with locations. I'm not sure the others do. I also hope to use it for videos.

And oh, another thing I like about the Nikon is that it comes in red!!

Actually I'm open to any suggestions.

Many love the Panasonic DMC FZ200 which replaced the FZ150. Many like the Nikon as well however the FZ200 has outstanding low light performance. Btw, there are threads on this forum talking about it.

Also Cannon has the SX-50 which is in this class of cameras with big zooms.

Sent from my iPad

Welcome to the land of confusion!

First of all, I own none of these, although they are becoming tempting for those times (sporting events, for instance) where a camera is allowed, but removable lenses are not!