KENNEL DILEMMA pet care while you are gone

kenelmom

I had answered a kennel question on the Princess Cruise forum and thought this information might be helpful in this forum. If you have questions regarding pet care while you are away I will be glad to help in any way I can. I have been a kennel owner operator for over 40 years.

THE KENNEL DILEMMA

Helpful advice from the American Kennel Club

What do you do when you have to leave your dogs at home for an extended period of time? You could ask a friend to watch them or you could board them in a kennel. Many dog owners strongly oppose boarding their pets, but with some research, you can find reputable kennels.

· You must visit the kennels you are considering. If you are not permitted to visit the facilities, do not leave your dogs there. Your visit should be unannounced to prevent the kennel operator from making special preparations for your visit. You want to see the kennel as it really is. Once you are there, tour the entire facility. Look for the following.

· How big are the cages and how many dogs occupy a cage? Find out if they will board only one dog to a cage and ask to see those cages. You may also want to ask if they will allow your dog to have special reminders of home, like a favorite blanket or toy in the cage.

· Check to make sure the kennel has runs so your dogs are not kept in a cage all day long. If you have 2 or more dogs, a kennel with large runs may allow you to board the dogs together. Inspect the runs. If they are outside, there should be shading.

· Ask if there are grooming facilities at the kennel or if the dogs are picked up and taken somewhere else for grooming. If they are picked up dogs could get loose and run away.

· Ask how long the kennel has been in business and how many dogs they board.

· Make sure the premises are will staffed even during off hours.

· Ask about veterinary services.