Easy Vancouver/Victoria

My husband and I booked a cruise out of Vancouver.  We are hoping to spend a couple of days in Victoria and a couple in Vancouver.  My husband doesn’t walk well, which leaves me juggling luggage, carry-on, etc.  I’ve been looking at different options to visit Victoria.  Here’s what looks easiest to me, but I could use validation or other ideas.  I’m not familiar enough with Vancouver/Victoria/ferries/other to know whether or not this would be the best way for us to do it.  My thought is to fly to Vancouver, rent a car, drive to Tsawwassen, take the ferry to Victoria, then reverse a couple of days later and return to Vancouver before the cruise.  Does this seem easiest or are there other options that might be better for us?  If this is the best way, how much time would you allow between flight arrival and ferry departure?  Is there anything else that I need to know about booking/using the ferry?  I’m new to that mode of transportation.  Again, any ideas and/or advice to make this as easy as possible will be appreciated.  Thanks.