P&O v Princess

OTrail

Looking at going on a cruise in a couple of years and it's between these two as they sail from Southampton around dates that are convenient with an itinerary I'm interested in.

I've only cruised with Marella (formerly TUI) before and was just wondering if anyone has experience of both to offer a recommendation of one over the other.

I'll be 38 and a solo traveller, I'm more laid back and not in to all the formal events/dining. Do either have arranged solo meet ups, like coffees/breakfasts? It's been about 5 years since my last cruise and I'm feeling like a total newbie again :classic_laugh:

Both P&O and Princess Cruise LInes have solo coffee meetings on a daily basis. P&O tend to aggregate solo cruises on large tables if you are on a first/second sitting basis. Princess dining tends to be universally Anytime Dining and not on a sittings basis. Princess tend to run a lot more games and activities when at sea in my experience.

The main difference between them is P&O tend to have British passengers mainly because they market a high percentage of the time to the UK. Entertainment and shows are more aimed at the British sense of humour and audience. Princess have a wider distribution of nationalities and entertainment is more international and if anything American. I find Americans tend to mix more readily.

If you want to meet more people opt for sharing tables at breakfast and evening meals on large tables. You easily build up a few contacts.

Regards John

• Like 2
  • Haha 1

We've no experience of solo cruising, but all ships seem to offer get-together opportunities for solos.

We prefer Princess.

More stylish, laid-back and cosmopolitan, whereas we find P&O comparatively bland and workmanlike.

Better buffet on Princess too, for both decor and food.