Luggage leaks?

tara n angel

DD#1 (now 20 y.o.) NEVER listens to a thing we tell her. Here parents couldn't possible know more tha she does (rolls eyes).

When we pack we always put ant "leakable" items in zip lock bags to avoid problems. To HER it was a 'waste of time" as the various bottles are "designed not to leak". I tried to explain to her the huge temperature swings and atmospheric pressure swings that occur during air travel. But, (rolls eyes) what do I know. (As a referance point I am an engineer in the packaging industry!).

So we took a trip to visit my sister in Mississippi which entailed flying from Philadelphia to Charlotte to New Orleans and then driving 2 hours. When we got to my sisters house and unpacked, sure enough, EVERYTHING in DD#1's bag was covered in sunscreen! The rest of us went out and spent the rest of the day and evening relaxing by the pool while DD#! spent the rest of the day washing all of her clothes!

BTW 2 years later the suitcase still smells like a coconut!

I now pack everything in those really large ziploc bags. Everything stays dry (my bags went through the floods in Dallas this weekend) and I don't have to worry about things leaking onto my clothing.

Last cruise, I packed some Fabreeze to spray on clothes, I packed it in a ziploc bag. When I went to unpack the suitcase, it smelled really nice but everything was wet. The Fabreeze had busted open and out of the Ziploc bag.

Unless it is a bottle of booze, nothing liquid ever gets packed into my suitcase. I have a rolling toiletry bag that all my cosmetics and toiletries are packed in and not checked. The booze (if we bother) is double bubble wrapped and double ziplocked.

I personally haven't had this happen but am wondering if anyone has any (funny) stories of anything leaking in their luggage.

Had my luggage and shave kit get mashed in Miami once. My Rogaine and Preperation H got mixed up together.