world cruise

cruisePRN

has anyone done the world cruise? Do they serve the food as plentiful all 101 days and will I fit in my clothes to disembark? How much do you need to put aside for tipping and excursons or do they include that? Would a late 50's age feel out of place?

There are a few posters here who have done the World Cruise; I am not one of them. Scroll through the recent pages and you should find a running account of this year's cruise; it was started by Ides of March. Last year Grumpy1 did a running account. IIRC, his thread is also within the first few pages; he did have a link in his signature. There's also another summary of this year's around here someplace.

I am a veteran of several long cruises. I'd like to reassure you that the weight gain is not as bad as you might expect. The rhythm of a longer cruise is different than that of a typical 7-10 day cruise. It's more like life. You don't try every delicious food presented because you know tomorrow's another day---and you will get another chance to sample a taste.

Unless the World Cruise is very, very different then you will be assessed the $10 per person, per day service charge, and the 15% charge in lounges. Shore excursions are an extra charge, as on any cruise.

There is a special deal for laundry, as well as for internet. You can also arrange to have your baggage shipped.

I could be totally wrong, but for some reason I thought the non-bar gratutities were included in your cruise fare.

The longest I've spent on a cruise at sea was 21 days, and while I loved it, I realized there is such a thing as too many days on a ship at sea. Guess I'll have to train and work my way up to a world cruise. :D