Alaska 2007--Cruisetour or on our own?

Fritzie

Newbie here in charge of planning an Alaskan trip for late July 2007 for my family of 4 (two kids age 9 and 13) and my senior parents. Originally thought a cruisetour would be nice, but WOW--the cost! And I've read a few comments about kids not necessarily being interested in a cruisetour.

So, I'm hoping for lots of help from you all.

Any recommendations on cruisetour vs. doing a few days of land travel on our own?

Any cruise lines/itineraries you'd highly recommend?

Any shore excursions?

Northbound vs. southbound?

Feel free to jump in with any thoughts. I'm a bit--no, A LOT--overwhelmed!

Thanks!

My husband and I just returned from our first trip. We went with our parents (50) we are 30 and my brother who is 13. I planned for over a year. I would recommend an independent tour, but to each person, that may be different. Along our way, we met many people who we doing a cruisetour who had wished they had done it independently as they wanted to be on their own a little, and not “herded like cattle”.

I recommend doing plenty of research on this board and asking lots of questions. Everything for my 19 day trip came from here. These people have a wealth of information!!!!

First you have to decide if you want to do a cruise only or add a land portion, which I would recommend. We did the land portion first, which was lots of traveling and go...go...go. Finally, once we got to the cruise ship, we could relax, unpack, and settle in for a week. I would recommend doing a southbound for that reason.