I have a question about embarkation-wear.

cruzy-sue

For those of you who have cruised on Silversea in Europe, how do the passengers dress for daytime embarkation? All of the brochure pictures look as if the women are in suits, hats, fairly dressy. I know some of you have watched the parade of "embarkees" - what's the story?

I have never seen anybody embark in a hat!!

On all our Silversea cruises there has been a wide variety of outfits......from suits to shorts. I have seen people dressed up and dressed down. As UK says...dress for comfort and to please yourself. After all, it's you who are important.

I've been told that the number one, easiest way, to spot an American in Europe is by his or her tennis shoes.

Nikes, Adidas, New Balance, Avia... all staples in American wardrobes.

But in Europe, walking shoes or sandals, or even high heels for the very trendy and young (women of course, and I have no idea how they can walk on them for so long, and so far.)

Is this true, European friends on this board? And, if it is true, does it matter?

Should an American avoid wearing tennis shoes if s/he would like to "blend in?"

I don't think it matters at all on board as one of the things that is nice about Silversea is the blending of cultures. I believe there is a great deal of respect for the different backgrounds. As for embarkation, tennis shoes are comfortable, and would be very serviceable.

Personally, I don't like wearing tennis shoes for everyday wear because they're a pain to get on and off. I'm really curious if any of you even have an opinion on this.

As we're generalising - and no one ever got into trouble for generalising - I think us europeans notice that americans like to have the "proper gear" for every passtime - or at least to give the impression of the pastime they'd like others to think they are participating in.

An example would be "what do americans wear when they go for a pleasant undemanding short off-ship excursion?"