What to do about price drops

sonomaphil

I posted this on the "Ask a cruise question" board and it was recommended that I post it here.

I booked my December Princess cruise through one of the major agencies. I know you can‘t talk about individual agents but let's just say you probable have their card in your wallet. Don’t leave home without it. The price I booked at the time was the same as on the Princess web site. The price is still the same at both sites. I’m new to all this and am learning that this is usually the expensive way to go. I was messing around the internet and checking things out. I requested a few quotes from other agents online. Most came back with a minimal discount at best. But one agency came back with one that made me think. My current booking is for a BE balcony, guarantee. The other agent came back with a BA balcony, $50 in shipboard credit and their price was $236 LESS than my original booking and $600 less then a BA at the Princess web site.

So what are my options? Can I contact my original agent and see if they can match? Can I cancel the first booking and go with the second? Is any of this possible? Final payment isn’t due until the end of September.

You can try contacting the original agency you booked with and see if they will lower the price for you, some will, some won't. There are agencies out there that discount their commision and pass some of the savings along to their customers.

Now, it is easy to either cancel and rebook or to switch your booking over to a new TA................but there are some drawbacks to this. It is possibly that the original agency may charge a cancellation fee, many of the larger companies do that now, which will almost eat up the extra savings. If they don't, then contact the agency with the price you liked, make sure everything is included in that as some don't quote you the price with port charges and government fees and you don't find out until it is too late.