~NEW to cruising...PLEASE help me get started

emilee'smama

:)

Hello.....I am BRAND new to cruising and was referred to this board. I hope some kind soul has the time to help get me started.

My husband just informed me that he wants to take a cruise during our fall break (Oct 11-16). We live in San Antonio and want to drive, so that gives us the choices of Galveston or Houston. We are taking our 3 year old.

here is the only 4 day from Galveston for our dates that I have found

4 days from Galveston on Carnival Ectasy going to Cozimel. Level 4B (have noooo idea what this means)

Price $968 TOTAL (plus tips) for 2 adults and 1 toddler

this comes out to $80 per day per person. Is this reasonable, overpriced...???? I read on a thread that $60 is "the rate"

ANY HELP is sooo greatly appreciated!!!!

I don't expect you to "do the work" for me, but could you PLEASE point me in the right direction...boards to read, etc. I need to decide soon.

THANKS soooo much for your assistance!

:) :) :)

emilee's mama

I think your rate is pretty good, I did find one about $20 less (total), so you may have paid a booking fee. At this late date, to change your booking will be a hassle and sometimes there is a cancel fee, so I would just stay put if I were you.

Your cabin is an inside, on the Main Deck (perhaps listed as deck 3 on the elevators). The cabin is roomy, especially if you don't have the beds pushed together. I don't think there is a sofa bed. so you or your mate may have to sleep in a pullman (overhead bunk), I'm not sure you want your little one up there.

Emilee will have fun in the kids club, register her there the first night. The counselors onboard ships are usually great, you and your husband can enjoy a bit of alone time, if you wish. The staff and crew will adore your little one, so do plan on taking her into the dining room in the evening.