Sea Sickness Injection

nickyaddis

$41 in April 2006. $30 Professional services $6.00 prescription medication $5.00 Injection supplies

$5.00 injection supplies? Heck, if I had known I could have made a profit on my insulin syringes and alcohol prep pads! Talk about your mark-up! For 5 minutes of the Doctor's (or nurse's) time. And they are only open about 2 ours twice a day. Wish I was a Doctor. I'd sign up for THAT duty! <G>

Karie,

Who kows they do more than that. My father fell on board and got excellent treatment, including x-rays and such.

... and to be honest it's money well spent. My wife was not having the best of times until she had the injection last time on board.

You pay $50, it lasts the duration of the voyage, on a TA that;s $8 per day, say £4.50ish to us Brits ... not bad to ensure you enjoy the journey.

My wife plans on making the medical centre her first port of call when we get back on board in November. I won't object as it knocks her out and I'll get some piece & quiet!!! :)

My wife plans on making the medical centre her first port of call when we get back on board in November. I won't object as it knocks her out and I'll get some piece & quiet!!! :)

Sorry to disappoint you but they'd advise your wife not to have the shot until she's starting to feel sick. How unfortunate - you could go all cruise without that "peace and quiet"!:D

I recommend asking your primary care physician for scopalamine patches so you don't have to visit the medical clinic on board. The idea of being an on board physician sounded appealing but when I visit cruise medical staff websites it looks like the salary is a fraction of US salary. It also looked like one might have to share one of the staff cabins. Still, the idea of working at sea keeps me curious. Have any other medically trained CC members looked into this?

Boulder Girl, MD