suggestions for excursions on PG for March 07

cruisin'cats

I figured that with all the people who've sailed on the Paul Gauguin and loved it, I might be able to get some good suggestions as to which shore excursions are worthwhile (and need to be booked in advance). DH and I are average snorkelers and have no diving experience. I love to take photographs (darned good for a self taught amateur). I plan on looking for some jewelry, possibly loose pearls to bring home to design settings for later if I don't find something I like there. I know something about pearls but not about the pricing. Hmmm...what else would help you make suggestions? Ask me, I'll answer.

We're on the 3-3-07 sailing.

OH yes, while I'm here: do I need to make reservations for the restaurant in advance or can you get a table easily enough once on the ship? How does the food quality compare to the rest of the dining options? How often can a person go to the restaurant (we're on a two week cruise)? Any dining suggestions/reviews welcomed as well.

Thanks!;)

Helene

I have the same questions about the best excursions and necessity for restaurant advance reservations.

Plus I'd like to know if it is worthwhile to book the 3 hour drift snorkeling excursion at Motu Mahana. I seem to recall reading a post several months ago, that the snorkeling off the beach where we stay for the day is just as good. We'd rather NOT go on a guided tour if we can go on our own. (We live in Hawaii and are very comfortable in the ocean.)

Also, wehad an experience once in the Carribean where the cruise line wouldn't let us snorkel out of sight of their lifeguard (even sent someone on a surfboard to chase us down!) or further than about 50' from the beach. Any of that going on with the PG?

I have the same questions about the best excursions and necessity for restaurant advance reservations.