Never contracted Noro? To what do you atttribute your good fortune?

OuiOnboard

We have never had so much as an upset stomach on a cruise. We like to think it is because we wash our hands thoroughly MANY TIMES daily, especially after using the washroom and particularly before dining. We also use paper towels as barrier protection when contacting elevator buttons and handrails.

If you've had only non-Noro cruises, how come?

We have been on many cruises and never got the dreaded disease. I am a nurse, so realize how prevalent it is, but I think it is just luck. Even though, like you, we wash our hands often, we don't use paper towels to shield items and we touch bars, elevator buttons, doors, etc and (fingers crossed - hope this doesn't jinx us) we have never gotten noro!!!

I have seen the hand gel stations at the buffet for many cruises, but rarely see anyone using them - I even hate them because they are alcohol based and dry your skin so terribly.....guess the sea Gods have been with us so far. :p

I have been on a couple of cruises where there has been an outbreak but nothing as severe as some of the latest episodes. Both times the ship put a flyer in our stateroom about an outbreak, but each time I started to notice signs ealier, i.e. the public restrooms have their doors propped open and they are more insistent on using hand santizers in the restaurants.

What I have started doing the last few years (regardless if I have picked up any of the above signs), is to follow the 20-30 second rule when washing hands in the public restrooms. After rinsing my hands, do not touch the faucet handle directly (if not automatic), I use a paper towel and I also don't directly touch the entrance door to the public restroom, again using a paper towel. I have found over the last few years, cruise lines have relocate their trash can more conviently to expedite the disposal of the paper towels when guests choose this course of action.