Costco Travel Insurance

IndigoFairy

I am looking into travel insurance, something with which I have no experience, and I am looking for some guidance. Specifically, I found that Costco has a "Passenger Protection Plan" that is very inexpensive. Have any of you taken this plan before or know anything about it?

Thanks for your help!

The one they quoted me was for medical for $15 pp on Conquest. Cant beat the rate and if you take it out 7 days from when you book or transfer a cruise to them its like a new policy and covers pre-existing. Cant beat the rate.

I transferred all my Carnival bookings to them, saved about $118.xx I think and I booked the least expensive categories that TAs dont always like to deal with. They do discount Carnival. For others they give other incentives which are nice. Some got a $250 Costco gift card per cabin when they booked disney last month. sweet.

Note the insurance is not a cancel for any reason type of insurance plan.

Couple of things I noticed:

1. the Evacuation/Repatriation limit of $50,000 - I don't think this is enough.
  2. Primary or Secondary coverage - I couldn't find where it said either way, I buy primary insurance.
  3. I couldn't find an exact price, it says from $27 pp. Guess you have to talk to the Costco TA for an exact amount.

For our upcoming and previous cruise, I bought our insurance thru USAA. It is from a company listed on insuremytrip but with a slightly better policy and price than the insuremytrip one. USAA does require membership in its organization though, so not everyone can buy thru them.

Have you looked at insuremytrip.com? What is the actual cost for the Costco policy and a similar policy thru insuremytrip, for your cruise?

I think costco provides the insurance not thru a secondary company. As i said the $15 quote was for cheapie cruises, $269, $269, $449 pp.

I got a higher quote for insurance on a cruise that was $599 and $699.