Question about shore ex list for HAL experts.

mbe30

I'm booked on the Noordam on February 27. The shore excursion list is up and available for me to book already. All of the ports except for St Thomas list almost every tour that appears in the shore excursion brochure. The tours for St Thomas, however, are very limited. There are many more tours listed in the brochure than appear on my list. I know that sometimes more tours appear on the list as the time draws nearer, but the list has not changed at all in the past couple of months. This is my first time on HAL, so I'm not sure if I can expect more tours to be added. Anyone have experience with this? I appreciate any input. Thanks!!

MB, I find St Thomas incredibily overrun with tourists. Why not walk, take a trolley, or whatever is offered to get you out of port to a bus, or take a taxi to Red Hook ferry. From there, the ferry to St John. It may be "crowded" too, but if you walk the back streets you'll get a taste of what it used to be. Or take a taxi to Trunk Bay, a gorgeous beach. Much of the island is a National Park which I discovered when Cinnamon Bay Campground opened in the early 60's so, it's nostalgia that drives me to St. John.

MMC

I have been told by HAL in the past that the brochure describes tours offered for past time frames. They have to re-negotiate with the tour operators and until they finalize these the tours are not available for booking on HAL's web site.

St Thomas is innundated with cruise ships and any excursion offered by any of them is available from locals at the pier.

Previous poster is right. Anything offered by the cruise ship you can do on your own