Cruise Deposit or Cruise Payment?

Sunny B

Hi, everyone. I'm confused....in late December 07 I booked five (5) cabins for a Family Holiday Cruise in December 08; HAL, through VTG. I thought I was putting a "deposit" down for the reservations charged to my credit card, but the statement just arrived and I have been charged the total amount of the cruise (around $11,000.00). The amount is payable to my credit card company but does state Holland America Line, not VGT. Is this normal? I was planning on budgeting monthly amounts to a Money Market account to pay for the cruise by the "payment" date in September. Now I will have the credit card interest rate on my unpaid balances for 7 months! Any suggestions? Is this how it works when booking a cruise?

Can you tell I'm a newbie to all this:rolleyes:

Thanks!

No, it is not normal to charge the entire amount this early. It is normal, and safer, to see the charge directly to the cruiseline. You should call your travel agency (which we are not supposed to name on these boards ;)) and ask if there was a miscommunication. Perhaps they thought you said to put the 'whole thing' on your card and you meant to put 'all five deposits' on your card.

Usually, any amount over $10K requires a copy of the front and back of the credit card, along with a signed credit authorization form and a copy of your state issued ID. This is not a normal transaction. If you are outside of the normal final payment window, it is far more normal to charge only the standard deposit amount.

Have you called the agency to see why they did this? At any time, did they say the words "do you want to pay in full now?". If not, this is totally wrong. I've never paid for a cruise in full at time of booking unless I book after final payment is due, which of course you haven't done. I would raise all kinds of heck with your agency. Something is very wrong here either with the agent or the agency, and you deserve an explanation.

Thanks to everyone who replied.