Newbie here - questions on beds

CruisinEurope

Hello!

I have a SERIOUSLY dumb question, but I've not yet been able to find the answer.

We are a family of 4 (me, DH, DD6, and DS4).

We are looking to travel economically and splurge on the shore excursions, etc. So to us, that means either an inside or an ocean view room. Not a suite.

How on EARTH do they sleep 4 people in an inside / oceanview cabin?

All I see anywhere is "two lower convertable beds" -- what does that mean? And where do the other 2 sleep??

So sorry for my ignorance - - I am just really confused.

(PS - ship is the NCL Jade, Dec 12th out of Barcelona).

Thanks!

For the room type you're looking at, it won't be a sofa bed...most likely. Probably, they are like bunk beds that pull down from the ceiling. Don't worry...you don't have to. That's what your cabin steward will do. There will be a ladder to get up there. You'll have to get someone else to respond to see a picture since I've never been on NCL to know how the railings look. I mention railings b/c I think the 6 y/o will work in a bunk bed, but I'd be leary for a 4 y/o. You might have to flip your DH to see who gets to climb into a upper bunk. The beds below would normall be able to be combined into a double bed (size between queen and king), but with using two bunks, you'll probably want to leave them as singles against the walls. That will make more floor space in the middle of the room anyway. At least that's what I would expect "two lower convertibles" should mean.

Just make sure you book a room that has capacity for 4 people. Sounds like you probably have.

The two lower beds will be pushed together to make one bed. Then the kids would have "pullman beds" which are beds that come down from the ceiling. Think "top bunk".

The problem with that is your children are young (like mine) so I don't allow my children in a pullman. The one time we had those, I slept up top. Doesn't make for the most romantic getaway with the hubby. ;)