On-Board Bookings help - transferable?

marciemi

My mom and I are going on the Diamond in December. I've never done an on board booking before and have a few questions about them.

1. What is the benefit? Smaller deposit ($100) and some onboard credit ($100 per cabin) I think I read somewhere but could have been on RCCL!

2. How long is it held/good for?

3. What if you change your mind - can you cancel if necessary?

4. My main question. My mom and I are unlikely to cruise together again any time in the near future - this was a once in a lifetime type thing. However, we've both cruised Princess in the past and it's conceivable that she & my dad or DH & I would cruise (not at the same time since there's those 3 kids to worry about ;) ) If we booked it in her and my name, could we at a later date change it to include either of us and our husbands? Or do you book it in one name only? Or is it limited to the people on board - ie she and I would HAVE to cruise together to use it?

Thanks for any help!

1. Yes the 100 buck deposit is great and the credit is dependent on what type of a cabin and how long the cruise, sorry I just can't remember all the detais.

2. it is good for 4 years.

3. Totally refundable

4. Duh?.sorry

Well,

I cruised two weeks ago on the Diamond with my mom also, and wanted to

do a future booking for my husband and I, as I'm not sure when I'm going

again with my mom. I filled out the little slip for $200 (100 each) on the very

last day of the cruise, and when the slip was delivered to my room for confirmation, only one of us was confirmed (i.e., myself, not for my husband)

I was bummed as I had previously read on this board that it WAS indeed possible to do it that way. Perhaps I should have talked to the rep on board instead of just filling out the slip. But on the slip it did state very clearly,

just for persons currently on board the ship, so maybe the rules have changed.